Author Topic: Anyone using a W58 on a 4age?  (Read 1699 times)

RedRolla

  • AZT Member
  • **
  • Posts: 64
    • View Profile
Anyone using a W58 on a 4age?
« on: December 08, 2014, 02:20:43 PM »
A buddy of mine junked his Celica Supra so I grabbed the tranny off of him. Anyone here using a W58 on a 4age? What did you do to make it work? I've found on the interwebz a pricey adapter but that's about it.

Toywagon82

  • Sr. AZT Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 278
    • View Profile
Re: Anyone using a W58 on a 4age?
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2014, 02:53:19 PM »
E7 dudes run them with a 3tc.
so youll need an adapter plate and a custom driveline.
most likely need to mod your trans mount too

Wangchung_Tonight

  • Bad ass
  • *****
  • Posts: 870
  • Skid-marks.
    • View Profile
    • Ehhrrr ma gerrd, its merr Ferrsberrk!
Re: Anyone using a W58 on a 4age?
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2014, 10:46:10 AM »
Are you gunna be making a lot of power?
The legendary pizza delivery 8-6 of Akina.

twincharger

  • Bad ass
  • *****
  • Posts: 1592
  • Bite me!
    • View Profile
Re: Anyone using a W58 on a 4age?
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2014, 01:50:04 PM »
I've been putting down 240+ whp thru an sr5 t50 for 15 years and the trans is fine.

I don't drift though.

It would take a lot of power to make the w swap worthwhile in my opinion.

RedRolla

  • AZT Member
  • **
  • Posts: 64
    • View Profile
Re: Anyone using a W58 on a 4age?
« Reply #4 on: December 11, 2014, 06:06:42 PM »
I'm shooting for 200 whp on a turbo blue top build.  I've read a few threads about guys using the w58 since they blew through their t50. Since I have the w58 now, I'm just trying to figure if its worth the trouble.

twincharger

  • Bad ass
  • *****
  • Posts: 1592
  • Bite me!
    • View Profile
Re: Anyone using a W58 on a 4age?
« Reply #5 on: December 11, 2014, 06:18:19 PM »
The magic number for me is 3.  If I break a part 3 times, then I upgrade.

I haven't broken anything on a toyota 3 times, so I really don't upgrade much.

I guess it has to do with how you drive and your tolerance for breakage.

I say turbo first, run it with the t50 as you save for the new bellhousing.

Then decide in 6 months if you need to do it.

Hackeduphachi

  • Bad ass
  • *****
  • Posts: 1282
    • View Profile
Re: Anyone using a W58 on a 4age?
« Reply #6 on: December 12, 2014, 11:25:37 AM »
It's gonna be more money for the bell housing then a spare t50. I wouldn't do it unless you break a couple T50's first. I have been beating mine like it owes me money for years. I have only broke one T50 in seven years with a 20v swap. I clutch kick it constantly. And when it did break it was 100% my fault. I tried shift locking from 3rd to 2nd hard on dry pavement and it got stuck in gear lol.

Wangchung_Tonight

  • Bad ass
  • *****
  • Posts: 870
  • Skid-marks.
    • View Profile
    • Ehhrrr ma gerrd, its merr Ferrsberrk!
Re: Anyone using a W58 on a 4age?
« Reply #7 on: December 13, 2014, 10:29:00 AM »
Shift lock initiation: for people who hate their drivetrain LOL
The legendary pizza delivery 8-6 of Akina.